Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark (2011)

Click here to see this article published in the July/August issue of NXG Magazine

Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark preview

Don’t be afraid of the dark? Please, I have been petrified of it since I saw the 1970s original back in the late 90s. That children’s show Are You Afraid Of The Dark? didn’t help much either.

August is my favourite time of the year for films. It is the gear up to Halloween and a whole host of new horrors emerge from the woodwork, though we were treated earlier in the year with the petrifying Insidious.

The story is not too dissimilar from many horror plots, but that doesn’t mean it is not fresh – and terrifying – have you seen the trailer? *shudders* Starring Katie Holmes, Bailee Madison and Guy Pearce, the film revolves around a young girl who is sent to live with her father and his new girlfriend. She soon discovers some ’new friends’ in the house who wish to claim her for one of their own.

The creatures in the 70s classic were (and still are) terrifying, so I for one am looking forward to seeing Guillermo del Toro’s and his visual effects teams’ creations on the big screen.

I am not usually a fan of horror remakes, particularly when I really love the original movie. I mean, Halloween, Friday The 13th, Nightmare On Elmstreet, what on Earth was the reasoning behind remaking those films, which seem just as fresh today as they did in the 70s/80s?! That being said, the original Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark is probably not very well known to those outside of the horror buff circles and I do feel like the story would benefit from a little breath of fresh air.

However, one thing that shocks me about the marketing of this film is the downplaying of Guillermo del Toro’s involvement in this movie. He did co-write it with Matthew Robbins after all. Give him some credit guys, he is the driving force. It was he who sealed the deal with Troy Nixey, the incredible director of Latchkey’s Lament.

I am also hearing a lot of critics saying that they are doubtful of how Katie Holmes will fare starring in a horror movie. For those naysayers, can I just remind you of a little film she was in called Disturbing Behaviour, and even to some extent, The Gift? I’ve always had a soft spot for Katie, since my Dawson’s Creek days, and it will be refreshing to see her return to this sort of role.

I am positively terrified with excitement.

Also published on emmaknock.wordpress.com

