iZombie-intelligent zombies review

Image sourced from zombies.ws

Here at the Hothouse we are always up for a new sensory experience and that is just what Readmusync promise with iZombie-intelligent zombies by Monster Ismael Berdei. You see it’s not just a digital book, iZombie-intelligent zombies is a digital book designed for a tablet or iPhone that comes with a soundtrack featuring music and sound effects that are synched to a turning electronic page.

Readmusync kindly supplied us with the first chapter so I gave it a go. I suppose the nearest experience I have had to using this app is listening to an audio drama, only with iZombie-intelligent zombies you read the words yourself. As stories go we are back at the beginning of the zombie apocalypse. Mark has a row with his girlfriend and goes out and murders a passing cyclist. As he dumps the body in the river something that moves, but isn’t alive comes after him.

I have to admit, I’m a bit tired of the bloody zombie apocalypse so the idea didn’t fill me with glee, but I did find the novelty of the synched music score and the sound effects to be quite fun. Unlike a real book, your reading pace is not dictated by you, but by the app itself so you have to keep up with the turning page. My personal jury is out on whether that particular novelty would wear a bit thin with extended play.

Some of the noises created by Readmusync’s foley artists are gloriously gruesomely wet and squelchy though, I think I can leave it to your fetid imaginations to work out what they might be for.

iZombie-intelligent zombies is available to download from iTunes.

Image from promotehorror.com

Image from promotehorror.com

Review by Simon Ball

Connect with Simon: @RealShipsCook or here.

