Devils in Disguise: Q&A with Filmmaker Guillaume Campanacci

Image sourced from indiegogo.com

Image sourced from indiegogo.com

If there is one thing we like at the Hothouse, it’s film folks with a ‘can-do’ attitude. French filmmaker Guillaume Campanacci certainly fits that bill having knocked out Devils in Disguise, his debut movie as director in just 11 days.

In Devils in Disguise, Guillaume has brought a very Gallic twist to what is a taut psychological thriller concerning friendship, love, trust and murder set in urban California, and now he needs a little bit of post production help through an Indiegogo campaign to bring the finished film out to us film fans.

I caught up with Guillaume in Los Angeles (by e-mail, we do this for love not expenses you know) where I asked him about how he got to become a filmmaker, it wasn’t as straightforward as you might have imagined.

“I was born and raised in Cannes, the home of The Cannes Film Festival. I went to college and studied engineering, but when I got my master’s, I decided that I didn’t want to start a career; what I wanted to do was to travel the world and I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to become a model. Thanks to modelling I got to live in Athens, Paris, Singapore, Hong Kong, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Hamburg, Miami and New York, but at some point I no longer felt fulfilled by photo shoots and parties, so I went on to study acting and screenwriting. I now live in L.A., where I directed Devils in Disguise.”

Moving on to Devils in Disguise, Guillaume explained what it was all about.

“Devils in Disguise is a psychological drama. It is the story of two roomates, Leila (Magen Mattox) and Sandy (Montanna Leigh). Leila is in a relationship with Alain, played by me, who abuses Leila and Sandy both mentally and physically. Pushed to the edge they have only one way out. It is a film underlined with violence and told through a strong, non-linear structure, with poetic and sensual imagery, a perfect blend of reality and dream-like fantasy sequences.

“An important role is played by Tad Brown as the drug dealer.”

Having already mentioned directors like Robert Rodriguez and Christopher Nolan as important influences in his work, when I watched the trailer I was struck by how very French the imagery, composition and subject matter seemed to be despite the film being set in California, Clouzot and Les Diaboliques came to mind, but I also wanted to know which other European filmmakers had influenced Guillaume.

“I love Clouzot, he was a big influence, as well as the work of Godard, Truffaut, Noe and Resnais. As an artist, I am primarily interested in bringing back the flare of the ‘Golden Age’ of the French Cinema.”

Finally, what is the indigogo campaign about, what are you hoping to do with the money and how can people contribute?

“The movie is shot, we are raising money for post production and promotion funds to get the movie out there; essential stuff like film festival fees and logistics, prints and promotional material. If any Hothouse readers would like to help us bring this film to you, they can contribute here and also share the Indiegogo campaign by clicking the facebook and twitter share buttons under the video.

“And for the lowest perk, as it is said on the page, I will dream of you!”

Interview by Simon Ball

Connect with Simon: @RealShipsCook or here.

