Baobhan Sith – Director David Hutchison Speaks

We like something a bit different at the Hothouse and the inspiration for David Hutchinson’s forthcoming feature is certainly that. Baobhan Sith is currently doing the festival round and the full movie will be available shortly, but we loved the trailer so much that we could not resist the opportunity to find out a bit more about the movie right now, so over to David

Baobhan Sith is my second feature and was self-funded on a microbudget. It took three years to make as I was working in my day job at the same time. The inspiration came from two things:   Firstly the true story of  South Korean filmmaker Shin-shang Ok who along with his wife were kidnapped and made to work for seven years for North Korean dictator’s son Kim Jong-Il. They made  the cult movie Pulgasari ( a rip-off of Godzilla). Eventually they escaped when attending a film festival. I liked that story but didn’t have funds to shoot it, so I moved the location to a Scottish island and instead of a dictator I had a laird ( a nod here to Lord Summerisle in The Wicker Man; I grew up next to the Summer Isles). Instead of a director and his wife I made it a cinematographer and her estranged daughter. I wanted the story not to be based on real people, just inspired by them so I wanted to add a supernatural element.

Secondly, I was looking for a creature that hadn’t been used in film before and came across the Baobhan Sith (pronounced Bavanshee). She’s a Celtic demon, a bit like a vampire but has talons instead of fangs and hooves instead of feet. The myth predates vampire yore such as Vlad The Impaler and Countess Bathory.
The main character is Senga Sutherland played by Janet De Vigne who is also an opera singer and some of her singing is used in the film. Janet was the German tourist being shown around the Taj Mahal in Slumdog Millionaire.’

Thanks for telling the Hothouse al about Baobhan Sith David, we can’t wait to see the finished move.

